MTI presents: Sound Nursery

MTI presents: Sound Nursery
Wednesday May 4th 2016, 4pm
PACE building

The De Montfort University Music, Technology & Innovation 2015-16 concert series presents:

Sound Nursery - MTI undergraduate concert

***Note the early start time: 4pm!***

MTI is very proud to present some of the excellent work of our current undergraduates, including acousmatic works, audiovisuals, and installations.

Works by Georgios Mizithras, Altea Alessandrini, Georgios Stavridis-Kotsikonas, Dimitrios Aatos Ellinas, and more...

PACE building, Richmond Street, Leicester UK, LE2 7BQ
Start time 4pm

Free entry

MTI Wins Funding for Cultural Projects with Onassis Cultural Centre, IRCAM, ZKM + others

Compose With Sounds (
The MTI has just been informed that the large proposal, hosted by the Onassis Cultural Centre in Athens and including 8 partners including IRCAM and ZKM for €3.8 million has not only been one of the fifteen successful projects, but also gained the highest mark this year within the Creative Europe scheme. This 3-1/2 year initiative includes dozens of cultural actions of which ten will be led by the MTI. Its focus is to make innovative forms of new music, in our case those involving technology, accessible to new audiences.

The MTI’s initiatives cover areas ranging from electroacoustic music in general to DIY approaches, sound art, telematic as well as live and mediated performance. Community and pedagogical initiatives will include further developments of EARS 2 and Compose with Sounds and DIY workshops. Research hubs will be created regarding international initiatives in community music (including an international conference) and reception of new music by new audiences throughout Europe. The MTI is to receive 14% of the project funding.

MTI Presents: rarescale

The De Montfort University Music, Technology & Innovation 2015-16 concert series presents:


Carla Rees, flute and Michael Oliva, electronics
curated by Katharine Norman and rarescale

A real treat: a performance by rarescale/Carla Rees - one of the most exciting contemporary performers out there - in a programme of works for flute, electronics, tape, and video, curated with the great Katharine Norman - including a world premiere from Norman herself!

Sungji Hong: SHINE (2015)
Katharine Norman: A walk I do (2016) *World premiere*
Georgia Rodgers: Three tuba studies (2014)
Simon Emmerson: Spirit of ‘76 (1976)
Michael Oliva: Apparition and Release (2005)

PACE building, Richmond Street, Leicester UK, LE2 7BQ
Start time 7pm
Free entry

Landy, Emmerson & Andean to present at Alternative Histories of Electronic Music conference at the Science Music, London

Between 14-16 April, the conference “Alternative Histories of Electronic Music” will be held at the Science Museum in London. The conference, supported by a research grant related to the pioneering work in this field by Hugh Davies and which is led by the University of Leeds in association with the Science Museum has invited two DMU Music, Technology and Innovation Professors, Simon Emmerson and Leigh Landy to provide keynote talks. MTI member James Andean will also be offering a paper meaning that DMU has possibly the largest delegation at this prestigious event. 

The Cambridge University Press journal Organised Sound will devote an issue to a selection of papers delivered at the event.

For further information, see:

'Expanding the Horizon of Electroacoustic Music Analysis' Released

‘Expanding the Horizon of Electroacoustic Music Analysis’

Edited by Simon Emmerson and Leigh Landy

A new publication, edited by two MTI professors, has just been released via Cambridge University Press. Authors include Raúl Minsburg, John Young, Micheal Young, Ambrose Seddon, Katharine Norman and many more!


Innovations in music technology bring with them a new set of challenges for describing and understanding the electroacoustic repertoire. This edited collection presents a state-of-the art overview of analysis methods for electroacoustic music in this rapidly developing field. The first part of the book explains the needs of differing electroacoustic genres and puts forward a template for the analysis of electroacoustic music. Part two discusses the latest ideas in the field and the challenges associated with new technologies. Part three explores how analyses have harnessed the new forces of multimedia and includes an introduction to the new software program EAnalysis, which was created by the editors as the result of an Arts and Humanities Research Council grant. The final part of the book demonstrates these new methods in action, with analyses of key electroacoustic works from a wide range of genres and sources.

For more information about this book, and to purchase your own copy please visit: